Laser 28 International Class Association Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Laser 28 General > Sailing
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

headsail track usage

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Commodore
Commodore

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Winner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: headsail track usage
    Posted: 03 August 2012 at 1:08pm
OK this is probably a total newbie question but I don't see a specific thread on this so maybe useful for other newbies as they arrive.

I'm wondering which cabin top tracks everyone uses for their headsails?  I've no idea if my tracks are factory or if some have been installed afterwards.  I have two on the deck aft of the shroud with one more to the inside than the other.  I also have one on the cabin top just above the window and another on the downward sloping part of the cabin top forward of the mast.

I've done some experimentation and found that when sailing close hauled under my genoa 155, switching to the innermost track on the deck gave us an immediate 0.5 knot speed increase.  However I've done no experimentation at all with other sails, especially the lapper.

I've attached a photo of my deck layout which hopefully uploads correctly.

If anyone has any lapper or genoa tips, please post :-)

Eclipse port cabin top
Chris
Eclipse #240
Thunder Bay, ON
Bill Layton View Drop Down
Commodore
Commodore

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bill Layton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2012 at 1:45pm
North sails are only cut for the upper track, whereas most other brands fit both tracks. Using the lower track keeps the slot open a little more while still being able to sheet the leech into the spreader.  I haven't used the upper tracks in 18 yrs
fatjohnz View Drop Down
Commodore
Commodore