Laser 28 International Class Association Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Laser 28 General > General Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Bukh saildrive leak

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bukh saildrive leak
    Posted: 27 April 2003 at 10:53pm

I have noticeable oil leaking from my sail drive unit after changing the oil 7 days ago. The slow leakage is through the seam where I assume a gasket lies horizontally at the height of the the propellor shaft. There are 6 bolts that hold this casting on the bottom of the unit and I am hesitant to remove these as I may make things worse. This is my first year with the boat and I would like to know if this is normal or should I have a mechanic open it up.

Thanks, Doug

Foghorn View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Foghorn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 April 2003 at 11:08pm

Does that mean your boat is out of the water and you can now see oil leaking out of the seam?

Surely if this is case, by the time you put it in the water you'll have a bigger problem - water leaking into the foot and mixing with the oil.

So far it sounds like you'll be opening up the foot to reseal the joint. That's not hard at all really, you'll spend more time building uo the 6mm of epoxy on the foot after.

Bill can no doubt give more info to you, but perhaps a little detail on what you've observed so far would help too.

Cheers,

Paul White
Decompression
CAN 214
Bill Layton View Drop Down
Commodore
Commodore

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bill Layton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 April 2003 at 1:41pm