Laser 28 International Class Association Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Laser 28 General > Maintenance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

signet depthsounder

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Commodore
Commodore

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fatjohnz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: signet depthsounder
    Posted: 30 October 2006 at 4:51pm

i'm new to the boat and the depthsounder has not been working for me since the beginning. It just flashes the 188 after poweron every time.

The bottom has been scraped and scrubbed (not yet tried sanding). Is there anyway to isolate the problem?

john

the freak flag is flying
Bill Brock View Drop Down
Skipper
Skipper

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bill Brock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 October 2006 at 11:13am

Hello John,

Don't freak out, just call the manufacture.  Here is their web site: http://www.signetmarine.com/products/Signet_Marine_Products.html

They should be able to tell you if it is the sensor or the box, assuming the 188 is a code generated during the initiation phase of unit startup. 

I sent mine in two years ago (just after I bought my boat) and it was a little pricey to get it looked at and fixed.  The next time mine goes out I think I am going to bite the bullet and replace it.  There is a discussion of replacement systems elsewhere on this web site.